Well, then, the rules are not clear at all. I read them to say you have to have those sails in order to be an F16 but you don't necessarily have to use them all when racing. And that latter is true, of course about any racing class. With any class you can reduce sail, you can reef, you can furl, you can race under bare poles, if you want to. That is totally separate from the sail configuration(s) that defines that class.
P.S. Maybe that third rule, 1.11.3, should just be eliminated as being unnecessary and self-evident.
Last edited by Mary; 04/28/05 08:11 AM.